The Places You’ll Go… or not…

Oh the cabs. . . cab

Cabbie: “Where we going?”
Me: “(gives address)”
Cabbie: blank face, then “Where is that?”
Me: “I don’t know.”
Cabbie: “How we get there?”
Me: “I don’t know. That’s why I hired you.”
~ Silence ~
Me: … “Hold on, let me look it up on my phone…”

Coming from New York, I guess I was a little spoiled with the proficiency at which the cab drivers knew their way around the city and outer boroughs. Call me crazy, but if your job is to drive people around to various locations then doesn’t it stand to reason that it is also your job to know how to get to said locations?

Maybe I sound a little too harsh, and you’re reading this thinking: “Hey, Singapore is a big place to cover with lots of smaller streets, give the cabbies a break.” And you would be right, except:

The taxi service my friends and I use has an app that lets you book directly on your phone. Cool right! Now, here’s the kicker: When your cab is confirmed you get a message with a feature that allows you to track your cab. The “locate” feature pulls up a map using your phones GPS and the GPS of your cab to show you on a map where exactly your cab is in relation to you.

So. . . my cabs are equipped with GPS . . . . . . 😕

In any case, always know where you are going and how to get there because your cabbies may not 😉

On a side note, I would encourage you to strike up a conversation with your driver! Most cabbies are really nice and enjoy talking to their passengers (unlike New York cabbies that wouldn’t know if you died in the back of their cars). You can learn a lot about the city and culture not to mention get great recommendations on just about anything in Singapore.

