“The New York of Asia”

Before embarking on our little trip to Hong Kong I was repeatedly told that I was headed to “The New York of Asia,” and that I would LOVE it. . .

Having lived in “The Real New York” (aka Manhattan), I was highly skeptical of these claims.  After all, wasn’t I repeatedly told that “Singapore is like New York.”!?! – Which, by the way, it isn’t.  Don’t get me wrong, Singapore does have it’s charms, but equating the two is like saying that home-made boxed brownies are just as good as the gourmet bakery items down the street.  Both are good in their own ways, but they are so not the same thing.  Anyway, back on track. . .

Hong Kong. . . as it turns out, is very much like New York!  Though perhaps a bit more crowded, congested, polluted and grittier.  All that aside, I really did fall in love with this crazy city, or at least, fall in nostalgia (is that even a saying?).   This city was so much like NY that sometimes when snapping photos I had to make an effort to capture signs in Cantonese to prove that I wasn’t just wandering the streets back home…

HK HK-1 HK-2 HK-3 HK-4 HK-5 HK-6 HK-7 HK-8 HK-8a HK-9 HK-10 HK-11 HK-12 HK-13 HK-14

